Sign In

Please sign in using the log in form at the top of this page or click here

Not a member

You need to register before you can start a new discussion or comment on a post.

Click the button below to go to our forum registration page.

In this Discussion

Welcome to the PDA Society Forum. Please take time to read the 'Forum terms and conditions', which can be found via this webpage:https://www.pdasociety.org.uk/terms-and-conditions and also in our NEW Forum User Guide: https://www.pdasociety.org.uk/forum/forum-users-guide-created
Messages in the 'General Discussions' category of the forum are visible to all internet users. You are therefore advised not to post anything of a confidential nature in this category.
Welcome to the PDA Society Discussion Forum. Please read our User Guide for more information and contact forum@pdasociety.org.uk if you would like to join one of our closed Member Forums for registered members only.
Advice on best approaches
  • Hi there, I am new to this forum and have seen some fantastic advice from you all.

I wondered if anyone could help advise on our situation with our son.

He has been diagnosed with Asperger’s, ADHD, ODD and demand avoidant profile

He is 12 years old and started secondary school in August which he is doing quite well in apart from high anxiety surrounding P.E. and Home economics (although he is pretty negative bout school in general).

His relationship with his Dad is particularly fraught. His Dad can be more authoritative than myself and this just doesn’t work and now my son refuses to speak to him or be in the same room as him.

We have a rule for our children that no electronics in their rooms at night. My son refuses to let us keep his phone on charge outside his room, he says he needs it by him for his alarm (we bought him a new alarm clock) & he doesn’t trust us with his phone. We have taken his phone away before but that did cause a such a massive upset. Since then he has been so much more withdrawn.